Le Voyage de la Vie

Historical Fictions

Posted on: January 1, 2012

Historical fictions are based on real historical events, places, and/or persons with fictional characterization and details. It may closely resembles its actual counterpart or deviated broadly. It includes films, novels, plays, and other media. I enjoy historical fictions so much, especially historical novels. Some novels that I have finished are:

  • Arok Dedes by Pramoedya Ananta Toer. This book is about Ken Dedes and Ken Arok of Singasari. I haven’t finished it yet, but I like its storyline and language so much.
  • Pulau Buru Tetralogy by Pramoedya Ananta Toer. It consists of four books; Bumi Manusia, Anak Semua Bangsa, Jejak Β Langkah, and Rumah Kaca. It is set in Indonesian National Awakening era. I admire how a local boy who got proper Dutch education saw the reality around him and started to use newspaper to build opinions against Dutch government.
  • The Lady Elizabeth by Alison Weir. It is based on the life of Queen Elizabeth I from her childhood until she ascended the throne. I got lots of insights about Englosh life in Tudor era from this novel.
  • The Queen’s Governess by Karen Harper. It is set in Tudor era also, but from Elizabeth’s governess’ (Kat Champernowne’s) point of view. It covers longer time span than The Lady Elizabeth; started from Anne Boleyn’s era to Kat’s death.
  • Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley. It is the sequel of legendary Gone With The Wind. Set in America and Ireland, it beautifully told Scarlett’s story. I don’t really know whether it can be categorized as a historical novel but I think it is.
  • Becoming Marie Antoinette. I forget who’s the author of this book. As indicated by its title, this book recounts Marie Antoinette’s life, from her childhood as an Austrian archduchess Maria Antonia to her teenage life and subsequent marriage to French dauphin Louis. This book is the first of a series and its successors haven’t been published yet.

Those are historical novels I have read recently. I think I learn much from those novels. Of course as I have stated above, a hostorical novel is not an actual recount of events. So, I often search about the real historical facts after read a novel and compare them. And I can remember those historical things better when I have read it in a novel. Maybe it is because there is an emotional attachment that I get when I read a novel. It is something I could not get from history books of my school days πŸ˜› In my opinion, a historical fiction can serve both as entertainment and educational source, but it should not regarded as a real recount of history.

P.S: I haven’t written in English for a long time and I do know that the quality my writing has been declined much 😦 Yeah, I have to practice again.

6 Responses to "Historical Fictions"

there is actually also one manga that is also a historical fiction that I know: “The Legend of the Dragon’s Son” (Legenda Naga in Indonesian). It is based on the Romance of Three Kingdoms (one famous historical event in China) but of course was modified here and there to make a ‘fictional’ storyline. It is quite a shame that it is more difficult for me now to keep following this one manga 😦

oh I think I knew this manga back in junior high school or high school πŸ˜€

Saya pernah baca tuh komiknya Maria Antoinette. Judulnya Rose of Versailles πŸ˜€ Trus baca komik jepang Miss Modern juga. Keduanya berlatarkan kehidupan abad dahulu kala sih, seputar World War 1 dan 2 gt kalo gak salah.

wah belom baca mam πŸ˜€

waah, jarang2 yg suka cerita sejarah πŸ™‚

suka juga nggak lung? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

